successful admissions


of students enter the university of their choice


students consult Education Index when applying for universites

University of Munster


Founded in 1780, the WWU Münster is a university with tradition. 250 courses of study, 37 000 students, a staff of 5 000 including 565 professors - as well as 400 partnership agreements with universities and other academic institutions all over the world. The University was twice awarded the German Foreign Office Prize for excellent support of international students (1999 and 2007).

The university has its roots in the Jesuiten-Kolleg Münster, founded in 1588. But the modern University of Münster was founded in 1780 with four faculties: Law, Health Science (Medicine),Philosophy and Theology. The ceremony of constitution was performed by Franz Freiherr von Fürstenberg. Its current name was established by Emperor Wilhelm II in 1907.

Some of the notable alumni include:

  • Wolfgang Clement, Politician
  • Johannes Georg Bednorz, Nobel Prize winner (1987)
  • August Hanning, President of the Bundesnachrichtendienst
  • Gustav Heinemann, Politician, former President of Germany
  • Friedrich Hirzebruch, Mathematician
  • Thomas Middelhoff, Board of Directors Bertelsmann
  • Georg Milbradt, Minister-President of Saxony
  • Walter Momper, Politician
  • Hans-Werner Sinn, economist, President of the leading Institution for Economic Research (Instituts für Wirtschaftsforschung, IFO).
  • Karl Stein, Mathematician
  • Ludger Stühlmeyer, Director of Music ACV
  • Klaus Töpfer, UNO-Commissar
  • Ernst Tugendhat, Philosopher
  • Arthur Wieferich, Mathematician
  • Klaus Zumwinkel, former Board of Directors Deutsche Post World Net
  • Year established
  • Registered students

Academic specialism


  • Protestant Theology
  • Roman Catholic Theology
  • Law
  • Economics
  • Medicine
  • Education and Social Studies
  • Psychology and Sport and Exercise Sciences
  • History/Philosophy
  • Philologies
  • Mathematics and Computer Sciences
  • Physics
  • Chemistry and Pharmacy
  • Biology
  • Geosciences
  • Music Department
University of Munster
Schlossplatz 2, 48149 Münster, Germany
View Location
+49 251 830

Free consultation

Get free 15 min consultation about this University

  • {{rerrors.FirstName}}
  • {{rerrors.Email}}
  • {{rerrors.Mobile}}
  • By providing your details you are consenting to University of Munster sending you information about the university that is relevant to your interests, such as: courses and subjects, events, funding, student life, accommodation and careers.
    University of Munster will never sell, rent, or give away your data for third-party marketing, however they may work with partner organisations to send you relevant information about University of Munster.
    If you do not wish to receive further information, you can opt-out at any time using links provided in their communications. University of Munster privacy policy applies.
    I agree to comply with the Terms and Conditions of Use and the Privacy Policy. I confirm that I am 16 years of age or older *
  • {{rerrors.Message}}

Featured universities

  • Goldsmiths, University of London
  • BHMS Business & Hotel Management School
  • Brunel University London
  • University of Strathclyde
  • Learn Direct
  • London South Bank University
  • New York Film Academy
  • Riviera French Institute ISC-Nice – Institut Supérieur de Commerce
  • Swiss Institute for Management and Hospitality
  • Swiss School of Higher Education
Show all