successful admissions


of students enter the university of their choice


students consult Education Index when applying for universites

State University of New York -SUNY


The State University of New York (SUNY) is the largest comprehensive university system in the United States. Their impact in New York State and across the globe begins with our 64 institutions, including research universities, academic medical centers, liberal arts colleges, community colleges, colleges of technology and an online learning network. They educate approximately 463,000 students in more than 7,500 degree and certificate programs, and nearly 2 million in workforce and professional development programs. Nearly 3 million SUNY alumni are located around the globe, each making their own unique impact.

The State University of New York (SUNY) was founded at Potsdam, New York in 1816. Years later, the Morrill Act of 1862 led to the creation of four Ivy League land-grant SUNY colleges, which now currently exist at Cornell University. SUNY was officially established in February 1948 when New York became the 48th state, of the then 48 states, to create a state university system. SUNY initially represented a consolidation of 29 unaffiliated institutions, including 11 teachers colleges. All of these colleges, with their unique histories and backgrounds, united for a common goal: To serve New York State. Since 1948 SUNY has grown to include 64 individual colleges and universities that were either formerly independent institutions or directly founded by the State University of New York.‌

  • Year established
  • Location
    New York
  • Registered students

Academic specialism

The State University of New York offers three types of undergraduate degree and certificate programs. Many students start and complete one of the options below, others start and finish one degree and move onto another degree program.

Certificate programs consist of courses, typically offered through Community Colleges, that lead directly to employment after a one-year program of study.

Associate degree programs (including AAS, AS, AA, AOS), which usually take two years of study, prepare students for employment or for transfer into a bachelor's program at a four-year campus. Associate degrees are offered at Community Colleges and the Technology Colleges.

Bachelor's degree programs (including BS, BA, BTech, BBA, BFA) are synonymous with "college degrees". You receive a bachelor's degree when you complete your undergraduate studies, typically requiring a four-year, full-time collegiate experience. University Centers and Doctoral Degree Granting Institutions, University Colleges and the Technology Colleges offer bachelor's degrees.

State University of New York -SUNY
SUNY System Administration State University Plaza 353 Broadway Albany
NY 12246
United States
United States
View Location

Free consultation

Get free 15 min consultation about this University

  • {{rerrors.FirstName}}
  • {{rerrors.Email}}
  • {{rerrors.Mobile}}
  • By providing your details you are consenting to State University of New York -SUNY sending you information about the university that is relevant to your interests, such as: courses and subjects, events, funding, student life, accommodation and careers.
    State University of New York -SUNY will never sell, rent, or give away your data for third-party marketing, however they may work with partner organisations to send you relevant information about State University of New York -SUNY.
    If you do not wish to receive further information, you can opt-out at any time using links provided in their communications. State University of New York -SUNY privacy policy applies.
    I agree to comply with the Terms and Conditions of Use and the Privacy Policy. I confirm that I am 16 years of age or older *
  • {{rerrors.Message}}

Featured universities

  • CBS International Business School
  • City University London
  • Normandie Business School
  • Universidad San Jorge
  • University of Central Lancashire Cyprus (UCLan Cyprus)
  • Curry College
  • Dublin City University
  • Royal Holloway, University of London
  • University of Amsterdam
  • University of Westminster
Show all


SUNY has 64 unique campuses – from urban to rural, small to large, Buffalo to Long Island – including University Centers and Doctoral Degree Institutions, University Colleges, Technology Colleges and Community Colleges.