Royal Veterinary College, University of London


  • The foundation of The Royal Veterinary College, London, in 1791 marked the establishment of the veterinary profession in the UK.
  • The College was granted the first Royal Charter in1875. To this day the RVC remains the only veterinary college in the UK to have its own Royal Charter.
  • In 1949 The Royal Veterinary College (RVC) became a full part of the University of London.
  • Year established
  • Location
    South East England
  • Registered students
  • Students satisfaction

Academic specialism

  • The college employs 129 academic staff.
  • Research areas include: Infection and Immunity, Musculoskeletal Biology, Reproduction, Genes and Development, Cardiovascular and Inflammation Biology.


Royal Veterinary College, University of London
Royal College Street
United Kingdom
United Kingdom
View Location
+44 (0)20 7468 5000

Featured universities

  • Oxford Brookes University
  • University of Surrey
  • University of Twente
  • Институт гостиничного, ресторанного дела и кулинарного искусства SWISSAM
  • Aston University
  • King's College London
  • University of Essex
  •  IUBH University of Applied Sciences
  • BPP University
  • Erasmus University Rotterdam
Show all


  • The Royal Veterinary College has two campuses; one in Camden, Central London and the other in Potters Bar, Hertfordshire.
  • The Camden campus is the principal location for first and second year Veterinary Medicine students and all students on the BSc Bioveterinary Sciences course. The campus houses the Beaumont Animal Hospital, the London BioScience Innovation Centre and the College's central administration.
  • The Hawkshead Campus in Hertfordshire is a 20-minute train ride from London King's Cross and is the base for the third, fourth and fifth years of the undergraduate Veterinary Medicine course, alongside all Veterinary Nursing students. It is also home to the Queen Mother Hospital, the Sefton Equine Hospital and the Large Animal Practice.