University of Cyprus


The University of Cyprus, UCY, is a public university established in 1989. Based in the capital of Cyprus, Nicosia, it teaches mainly in Greek. The official languages are Greek and Turkish but only a few Turkish speakers are registered. Since September 2005 the university credit point system is based on ECTS which is a standard for comparing the study attainment and performance of students of higher education across the European Union and other collaborating European countries.

The University is a vigorous community of scholars engaged in the generation and diffusion of knowledge. Despite its brief history the University of Cyprus has earned the respect of the international academic community and the appreciation of Cypriot society.

Today the institution has almost 7,000 students and competition for places is said to be fierce with undergraduate admission by entrance examinations run by the Cyprus Ministry of Education and Culture.

Students are taught in eight faculties encompassing humanities, medicine, pure and applied sciences, social sciences and education, economics and management, engineering, letters, plus a graduate school. 

As a young institution the University of Cyprus is developing a reputation for solid research and its academics are already world-renowned in certain fields. In 2010, for example, one of its professors, Christopher Pissarides was awarded the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, for his analysis of markets with search frictions.

According to the Webometrics Ranking of World Universities 2016, the University of Cyprus ranks 304th in Europe and 696th in the world.

  • Year established
  • Registered students

Academic specialism

There are 22 departments and 10 research units within the eight faculties covering the fields of archaeology, sustainable energy, applied neuroscience, molecular medicine, international water research, economics, gender studies, intelligent systems and networks, banking and finance, and oceanography.

University of Cyprus
Kallipoleos 75, Nicosia,
View Location
+357 22 892000

Featured universities

  •  IUBH University of Applied Sciences
  • Loughborough University
  • Brunel University
  • Goldsmiths, University of London
  • Oxford Brookes University
  • University of East Anglia (UEA)
  • University of Toledo
  • Бизнес-школа управления SWISSAM
  • University of Central Lancashire Cyprus (UCLan Cyprus)
  • BPP University
Show all


The main campus is located in Nicosia, the island's central capital and students are attracted by the university’s proximity to the Mediterranean and the Cyprus’ year-round Mediterranean climate, with abundant sunshine all year round. Long, dry summers and mild winters are separated by short autumn and spring seasons. Summer temperatures can be very high, > 40o at time, while winters are rather mild, with some rain throughout the island and snow on the Troodos Mountains. Lightweight cottons and linens during summer months, and warm clothing and rainwear during winter as recommended as is facial sunscreen SPF 30 or higher.

Travellers to the Republic of Cyprus may enter only through the legal points of entry: Larnaca and Paphos International Airports or Larnaca and Limassol ports. The closest airport to Nicosia is Larnaca International Airport - 49 km. Private taxis, group taxis and buses are available to rich Nicosia. There are limited bus service and private taxis around the city.